Shabbona Hometown Citizen Award

The Hometown Citizen Award was designed to recognize community-minded citizens who enhance the quality of life in Shabbona by preserving, promoting and carrying out positive small town community values and traits.

Award nominees will demonstrate leadership and integrity and be respected by peers. Additionally they should exemplify at least one of the following criteria:

• Helps out neighbors and fellow Shabbona residents
• Demonstrates hospitality
• Promotes and preserves traditional American past-times
• Works to preserve traditions and the small-town atmosphere in the community
• Promotes entrepreneurship through supporting locally-owned business
• Promotes a sense of community in Shabbona
• Demonstrates patriotism
• Serves the community through business

The recipient will serve as Grand Marshall of the Main Street Parade and have their name displayed in the community along with past honorees.

Download a Hometown Citizen Award Nomination Form here ...

Past Honorees:

2017 – Beth Einsle
2016 – Dr. Robert Purdy
2015 – Denny Sands
2014 – Randy Davis
2013 – Frank Ottengheime
2012 – Gary Richardson
2011 – Dan Nolan
2010 – Lois Purdy
2009 – Georgia Mertes
2008 – Pastor Jim & Carol Allen
2007 – Pam Ottengheime
2006 – Helen Challand
2005 – Connie Olson
2004 – Dick O’Kane